Wednesday, 23 August 2017

Roads: Tuesday evening's Classic TT practice round-up

THE CLASSIC TT riders set off on down Bray Hill on Tuesday to complete their first qualifying session after Monday evening's practice was cancelled due to bad weather.

The infamous ‘Manannan’s Cloak’ covered the Isle of Man for much of the day, but eventually lifted just in time. The Classic TT Superbike machines set off down Bray Hill in the order the will race in Monday's Motorsport Merchandise Superbike Race with Australian David Johnson sporting the number one plate on the Team Yrok Suzuki.

Jamie Coward claimed fastest rider to Glen Helen on the Mistral Racing Kawasaki, but was only a split second ahead of Dean Harrison who is also Kawasaki mounted. Austrian Horst Saiger, who posted the fastest lap in Saturday’s opening session, was five seconds behind.

Lee Johnston, coming back from his massive crash at this year's Isle of Man TT, was fourth quickest with 2014's race winner Bruce Anstey on the Padgetts Motorcycles YZR 500 Yamaha to complete the top five at the first check-point.

Michael Dunlop, on the Team Classic Suzuki, was an early retirement at Ballacraine alongside Manxman Dan Kneen.

Coward’s lap of 120.824mph was the fastest with Anstey only 1.1mph behind with an average lap speed of 119.724mph which he then smashed on his second lap by over 2mph with his fastest lap being 121.932mph.

Ivan Lintin on the Kraus Racing Kawasaki hit the 121mph lap club along with Derek Shiels whilst Horst Saiger and David Johnson narrowly missed out with a 120.890mph and 120.110mph laps respectively.

In the Lightweight Class it was veteran Ian Lougher on the Laylaw Racing Yamaha who topped the board at 113.994mph. Anstey, last year’s race winner, couldn't quite reach Lougher's pace and complete his lap at 113.010mph on his Padgetts Honda whilst Dan Sayle on the Steelcote Solutions Yamaha completed a 112.13mph lap.

Next up - the Senior and Junior machines. Dominic Herbertson on the Davies Motorsport Honda set the pace with an opening lap of 104.606mph in the Senior session less than two seconds quicker than James Cowton on the Dave Kenah Racing Norton as Dean Harrison, 2015 Race winner, finished third quickest on the Black Eagle Racing MV Agusta machine at 103.397mph.

Phil McGurk on the Chris Hughes Honda narrowly missed on on a 100mph lap at 99.967mph, but still finished as the quickest in the Junior session from Jamie Coward and Alan Oversby, who finished third in the 2014 Junior Classic TT Race.

A couple of incidents were dealt with as New Zealand's Grand Dalton came off unhurnt at the Verandah during the Superbike session whilst Elwyn Fryer and Dean Osborne also slipped off at Parliament Square and Governors dip respectively without injuries.

Wednesday's session is looking good to go without any delays hopefully - weather conditions currently looking perfect.

No comments:

Post a Comment